The Strata Committee are the representatives of the Owners Corporation. Election takes place at each Annual General Meeting.

The powers of the Strata Committee are limited under the Strata Schemes Management Act 2015 but the Owners Corporation may also impose additional restrictions.

The Strata Committee elect Office Bearers from the members of the Strata Committee, being Chairperson, Secretary and Treasurer. The Strata Committee can consist of a minimum of 1 member and a maximum of 9 members, except for 2 lot schemes where both lots must be represented on the Strata Committee.

Under the Strata Schemes Management Act 2015 the Chairperson, Secretary and Treasurer have certain functions, some of which are listed below:

Chairperson: Preside at meetings, conduct meetings, decide on issues relating to voting and procedure.

Secretary: Convene meetings (strata committee & general) prepare and distribute minutes of meetings, attend to correspondence on behalf of the owners corporation, maintain administrative and secretarial records of the owners corporation.

Treasurer: Issue levy notices, receipt and bank monies on behalf of the owners corporation, prepare Section 184 Certificates, prepare financial statements and other financial records, maintain accounts records.

At ASSM we believe in working closely with the strata committee, and a Strata Committee Meeting is convened following every Annual General Meeting.

View desktop site View mobile site